PDA

View Full Version : A total newbie

Darcey_Salwak
02-08-2008, 07:06 PM
Hi there,

I just joined PPA of MA about 3 weeks ago.The convention and print competition is next week. (Feb 22).

I just discovered this ppa community and forums and wish I had done so 2-3 weeks ago!!! I printed a few prints I thought I would bravely enter in the print competition. Not knowing much at all about the rules, I printed them on 16x20 mountboard, but without any borders or frames and such. I cropped them to 16x20 to fill the whole board. Now I see images here with frames and borders and they look so much better!!! If I had known I definitely would have applied them to my own images. Do most of you add borders?

I wonder if I should even bother submitting? Any advice?

Thanks so much for your time!

Clueless in MA!
Darcey Salwak

Don_Chick
02-08-2008, 07:16 PM
Hi Darcey,

Absolutely send in the images you have and chalk it up to a learning experience! You can also have them reprinted with borders, etc. and bring them up to NH's conference the end of April for a second opinion!!!!

Mark_Levesque
02-08-2008, 07:41 PM
What Don said. Also, you should be proud of yourself for having the gumption to enter prints right off the bat. A lot of times we have to cajole people for years to get them to overcome their reservations. Good for you!

D._Craig_Flory
02-08-2008, 08:06 PM
Hi Darcey;

First of all, welcome to the Forum. Congratualtions on realizing how important competition is. Besides just entering I will recommend sitting in, and watching, the actual judging. And, if there is a day and time for a print critique, make sure you go to that as well. Ask to have them talk about what would have made your images better.

Debra_Collins
02-08-2008, 09:01 PM