PDA

View Full Version : Possible Competition Print

JohnMalboeuf
01-26-2008, 09:36 PM
Any thoughts, I am still new to competition.

Thanks,
John

attachment removed

Nylora_Bruleigh
01-26-2008, 11:36 PM
HI John!

Good to see you here! And posting too! Good for you.

It is hard to tell on an image this size but it looks very flat to me. Also, the womans eyes are smack dab in the middle of the image.

I would try a different crop and play with the contrast/curves a little and see what you come up with! And post again!

Nylora

JohnMalboeuf
01-27-2008, 12:01 AM
Hi Nylora,

Good points, I left the full crop originally because this is her favorite place in her house. She is a sweet lady. I have know her for a long time. Her family asked if I could do this image. She is 93.

I agree, this image is a bit flat. I did fix the crop. Not sure if I can use this image for competition. I was looking at the story telling value.

Thanks,
John

removed attachment

D._Craig_Flory
01-27-2008, 12:12 AM
Hi John;

Even if you get the contrast up, crop well, and position the subject layer perfectly I feel this go no higher than about a 77. There is no impact and nothing different or unique. Now if you photographed this sweet lady possibly putting the needle on a gramaphone record or crocheting an afghan it might work much better. For a studio sample I like it because everyone can relate to their own relatives.

JohnMalboeuf
01-27-2008, 12:25 AM
This lady's name is Clara. I am not sure if I can get her to do another image. She has been sick and I had a very small window to do the this one. She was feeling good that day. That has been rare lately for her. Her nice asked me if I could be available on call when i did this one. She lives at a Greenhouse. I should have gotten an image of her about 10 years ago. She actively worked in the greenhouse for about 65 years. You can see it in the window over her shoulder.

This is another Image I am thinking about.

Thank you,
John